Webb retains top title at Derby Telegraph Sports Awards

Rio Olympic gold medallist Hollie Webb was the toast of sport across Derbyshire for the second year running as she retained the title of Sportswoman of the Year at last night’s (November 10) 2016 Derby Telegraph Sports Awards.

The Amber Valley hockey star headlined the winners at the prestigious ceremony, staged at the Roundhouse in Derby, which brought together the leading contenders from across the county in elite and grass roots sport).

Webb’s repeat awards success has come after she shot to national fame in the summer when her penalty stroke clinched victory for Great Britain in an exciting women’s Olympic hockey final against the Netherlands.

It was the finalé to a brilliant tournament out in Brazil for the former Belper Hockey Club player, who helped her British team-mates remain unbeaten throughout the tournament en route to a place at the top of the podium.

Amber Valley Paralympians Phil Hogg, of Heanor, and Ryan Taylor, of Belper, both traithletes were pipped, along with Matlock wheelchair rugby player Ryan Cowling,to the Disabled Sportsperson of the Year award, finishing as runners-up.

That honour went to another Rio star, 16-year-old South Derbyshire swimmer Lewis White, who smashed his personal best to take a bronze medal in the 400m freestyle S9 at the Paralympics, having trained while sitting his GCSEs.

Judges were so impressed with the contenders for the junior Sportsperson of the Year award that four made the final shortlist, but it was Amber Valley’s Ella Rush, from Hazelwood, near Belper, who was victorious after shooting to the top of the UK long jump rankings for her age and winning a national 200m title.

A runner-up in the Manager/Coach of the Year category was Riddings’ Gareth Pilkington, who set up and coaches the Amber Valley Tigers Ladies rugby team.

That award was won for the third year running by Mel Marshall, the coach of Olympic gold medal winner Adam Peaty, with Alan Cooke, coach of Rio table tennis player Liam Pitchford, also edged out.

Another runner-up from the area, this time in the Community Award was Steve Summer, of Heanor, who has overcome life-threatening injuries sustained in the fire brigade to volunteer and charity fundraise alongside his role as a fitness instructor at Ripley Leisure Centre.

Also just missing out on county honours in Junior Team of the Year were Denby Cricket Club under-13s, who have lost just one game in two seasons - a national cup fixture at York Cricket Club.

They finished as runners-up along with High Peak’s Buxton Athletic Fell Runners to cycling’s M1 Racing Academy who took first place in the Jewson Team League and whose riders won 62 individual races and secured 83 podiums during the season.

The Service to Sport award saw Mark Hallows, from Denby, shortlised after being involved in the Derbyshire sport scene for more than 60 years as a player volunteer and administrator, first in Wirksworth and now at Denby CC.

However, he lost out, as did Chesterfield’s Tim Sadler, to City of Derby’s Lesley Sturgess, who has been an enthusiastic and inspirational volunteer in sport for nearly 40 years at Derby Ladies Hockey Club and then in Derbyshire squash.

The evening was hosted by television presenter and sports reporter Gary Newbon and weather presenter Emma Jesson and saw around 300 guests in attendance, with money raised for Rainbows Children’s Hospice.

List of results below:



Runners Up


Adam Peaty

Lewis White, Liam Pitchford


Hollie Webb

Caroline Povey, Sophie Baggaley


Lewis White

Phil Hogg, Ryan Taylor, Ryan Cowling


Derbyshire’s Women Cricket Team

Derbyshire Disabled Cricket Team, Swadlincote Swifts


Mel Marshall

Alan Cooke, Gareth Pilkington


Matthew Dalley

Helen Watts, Tracy Parker


Long Eaton Parkrun

Neville Hardy, Steve Summer



Darkstar, Glossop North End

Service to Sport

Lesley Sturgess

Tim Sadler, Mark Hallows

Junior Team

M1 Racing Academy

Denby Cricket Club U13s, Buxton Athletic Fell Runners

Young Sportsman

David Hong

Cameron Orr, Gareth Griffiths

Young Sportswomen

Niamh Emerson

Alicia Barrett, Isobel Brown

Junior Sportsperson

Ella Rush

Charlie Ward, George Cooper, Archie Qualtrough


Ella Rush



Contact Details
Pages at this Level
Rate This Page

Thank you for rating our page as .

Your feedback is very important as it enables us to continually improve our site to meet your needs.

Please give a brief explanation of why you considered this page to be  and click on the submit button below to confirm your rating.

+ Additional Contact details (optional)

If you have a general comment or complaint about the Council's services, please visit our comments or complaints page.
rate page as good  rate page as average  rate page as poor 

Do you need further information?

If for some reason you are unable to find the information which you require on our website, you can contact us by the following methods.

address logoAmber Valley Borough Council, Town Hall, Ripley, Derbyshire, DE5 3BT
address logo01773 570222 *Calls are recorded for quality and training purposes
address logoenquiry@ambervalley.gov.uk
address logoComplete our online enquiry form
address logoText the word COUNCIL followed by your message to 60060 *Standard network rates apply
This site uses simple text files called 'cookies' to collect statistics about the number of people using the website, but they don't tell us who you are. Cookies help us keep the site relevant and up-to-date. By continuing to browse the site you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more