Councillors and elections

Amber Valley Borough Council is the largest district council in Derbyshire. The borough council has 45 councillors representing 23 wards. The council is the only one in Derbyshire which has a third of the council being elected each year, and on the fourth year county council elections are held. Parish councils are elected for a term of four years and are returned at elections for the whole council.

Our 45 councillors represent the following parties:

  • 27 Conservative councillors
  • 11 Labour councillors
  • 3 Green Party councillors
  • 3 Independent
  • 1 Socialist

The Conservative group, with the most number of councillors, currently has control of the council. For details on individual councillors please use our borough councillor page.

The next election to be held for the borough council will be in 2023. Prior to the last election held on 5 May 2022, the composition stood at:

  • 28 Conservative councillors
  • 15 Labour councillors
  • 1 Green Party councillor
  • 1 Socialist

Popular pages within councillors and elections

Need further help or information?

Contact the team directly on 01773 841458 or email